Game Tape

Wednesday (Thursday this week…grumble…grumble)  has come and gone. The heroes have fought their battles and villains have hinted at things to come. Now it’s time to review the game tape…

I don’t know about you, but there wasn’t anything coming out this week that got my fires really hot. I almost didn’t get books this week because I knew it would cut into my precious time with Beatles: Rock Band. In the end, habit won out. While nothing is god-awful, nothing stood out for me (unfortunately, I didn’t get my copy of Doom Patrol #2). Let’s just do this thing.

Booster Gold #24 is a satisfactory wrap-up to this arc. Since I’m a sucker for time-travel stories and alternate realities in comics, this plays right to me. On the whole I really like this book. This week’s just left me lukewarm. Oh…and apparently there are multiple colors of Scarab…like a certain instrument for lighting dark places. Hela-lame.

I should have enjoyed Muppet Robin Hood more than I did. The Muppets have appeared in 2 previous (and enjoyable) retellings of Robin Hood: once in print and once on the original Show. While I don’t really like the characters from Muppets Tonight (Pepe and Co. leave me cold), this only marginally affected my enjoyment, but speaks to the bigger issue of the issue. I’ve mentioned this before, but it takes a certain sensibility to write the Muppets well. The writers of Muppet Treasure Island didn’t have it, neither does the writer of this mini. It comes off more as a bland gag riddled book that happened to have Muppets in the roles. It wasn’t a “Muppet” book though. I’ve been getting it mostly because it’s important for me to support books with Muppets in them. I will say this positively: this week’s issue exhibits unexpected moments of metafiction. From a reference to the next story starring the Muppets to the narration text being a character, this issue rivaled Grant Morrison for self-awareness.

Not much else to say on this week’s stuff. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a gig to play this evening in my living room with the Fab Four.

Leave a Reply

