Game Tape

Wednesday has come and gone. The heroes have fought their battles and villains have hinted at things to come. Now it’s time to review the game tape…

This week was a pretty heavy week for me. I just missed getting the last copy of MODOK: Reign Delay, but I did manage to snag a copy of last week’s Doom Patrol #2, so I felt pretty good.


So far I’m enjoying these epilogue issues of All Hail Megatron much more than the actual story line that ended a few issues ago. #15 continues that strong stride. My top three favorite Autobots have always been Kup, Wheeljack, and Ironhide, but my favorite toy is Kup. This issue was a big deal for me because of that love. The first half  explains how Kup went from ape-shit crazy in his Spotlight issue to Nick Fury in his next appearance. The real star is Prowl though. This guy makes Batman’s mechanations look like a scheme cooked up by Lucille Ball. He comes off like an Autobot version Shockwave, and it works. The second half focuses on Perceptor, who has had an amazing transformation (pun intended). Easily one of the best scenes in AHM was when he kicks ass and Jazz says, “Perceptor? When did Perceptor get scary?” On the whole a good issue that answers questions and painlessly  teases the future.

Eighties cartoon week continued with GI Joe: Origins #7 and a solid story about why Mainframe is persona non grata in the lead title. As they say, it’s not paranoia when you know they’re out to get you.

Daaaaaaamn. There’s not much more to say about this perfect book, Agents of Atlas #11. Smack is talked, asses are handed, and someone gets cold-cocked by a chick. Hard to believe, but this is now my favorite non-Ego-the- Living-Planet Jeff Parker story.

I was hoping for an all positive week. I think the last couple reviews were a bit too grumpy. Alas, Batman and Robin #4 was lack luster in the art department. Tan’s art is not my favorite. It’s like Mandrake, but he tries to be more detailed. Doesn’t work when you’re inking the hell out of it for…mood. On the other hand, I’m looking forward to seeing the Flamingo in action. And who is this “Eater of Faces?”

By the by, Metal Men continues to be worth the price of admission as the second feature in Doom Patrol.

One comment on “Game Tape

  1. Jesse says:

    Excuse me, sir. Do you know where I could find information on girl fucked by Dracula?

    I’m getting the impression that AHM might be the best TF book put out in quite some time…I may have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

