Game Tape

Wednesday has come and gone. The heroes have fought their battles and villains have hinted at things to come. Now it’s time to review the game tape…

As I read Blackest Night as a whole, I have a few questions. Why isn’t Krypton back? How scary would it be to have a planet full of Kryptonian zombies? Why just J’onn J’onz of all Martians? The villain in the background (Nekron evidently) doesn’t seem to want to win this little game. Still and all, the books have been pretty decent. Did you know who was in central battery of the violet lanterns? Shocked the hell out of me. I also like the idea that there are two opposing halves to the violet lanterns. This predator idea intrigues me. Sinestro also has some nice moments.

X-Men Forever 8 continues the trend of this title to be strong and enjoyable. Although these are throwbacks, the X-Men most of us grew up with, Claremont isn’t keeping them frozen in time. He’s taking their individual arcs in different directions and developing each member pleasantly. If anything, the book moves a tad slowly. Still, it’s my the only X-book I’m looking forward to each month.

I liked the art in GI Joe: Cobra. In this one-shot epilogue I don’t think it worked as well. There were panels where I had to play Where’s Waldo to find either Xamot or Tomax. Art aside, the issue is a nice origin of Xamot and Tomax. I like the idea that there is a rift growing between them. The dual narration was novel, but a little confusing at first. Final analysis: great ideas, execution needs work.

Briefly, I don’t think the last page of Willingham’s JSA was supposed to surprise us as much as perplex us. How can I be shocked at the “death” of Mr. Terrific when I know in a few months the solicits say he’ll be fighting the undead Golden Age Mr. Terrific? Dan Didio made an interesting observation about spoiler solicits on Newsarama yesterday. Read the whole thing, or scroll to question 10.

That’s it for this week. It was pretty light on books. I’m going to enjoy the rest of the day eating birthday cake and not having to teach a class. Fall Holiday! WOOOOooo!

Leave a Reply

