This Week’s Books — And Some Rude Comments

Wow! Finally a decent-sized week for me!

  • BATMAN AND ROBIN #5 – Unlike everyone else, it seems, I liked #4. I dug the art (much more modern and less “lumpy”) than Quitely’s, and Morrison’s still telling a good story.


  • BATMAN ANNUAL #27 – This one will come down to page count and storytellers for me, but I’m leaning towards picking it up. The cynic in me says that the days of annuals being special are gone, with the dearth of minis and one-shots rendering them meaningless, but it’s been so long since we’ve had one, I think I’ll give it a shot.
  • BLOOM COUNTY COMPLETE LIBRARY HC VOL 01 – One of the best strips ever, finally collected in the deluxe format it deserves. I can’t wait for this.
  • IRON MAN ARMOR WARS #3 (OF 4) – I think I was just the victim of unrealistically built-up expectations on this one. Not bad, but not incredible, which is especially disappointing if you dig the idea of seeing Tony Stark fight a boatload of Iron Man suits while wearing a Doombot.
  • PLANETARY #27 – I know Matt’s been pretty disappointed with the delays on this one, but I always thought #26 was the last issue, so this is just a bit of lagniappe for me. I plan on reading through the whole series in one sitting (well, not ONE sitting, but as close as possible) as soon as I can.


  • SPIDER-MAN 1602 #1 (OF 5) – Dear Jeff Parker, I love you and would buy this is if it weren’t $4. Even so, you’re good enough you don’t have to take Neil Gaiman’s crumbs. Joe Quesada should respect you more, and I would be happy to sit down with him and explain your worth if you would like me to. Your friend, Jesse
  • STRANGE TALES #2 (OF 3) – The price point on this one is killing me, but this book is awesome. Once Strange Tales wraps up, PLEASE check out these guys’ indie books.
  • WAR HEROES #3 (OF 6) – Well, I remember LIKING the first 2 issues, but it’s been a while, and all I really remember is the US Army and an unused Ultimates plot. Still, it’s Millar and Harris, so you know you’re going to get a quality, if cynical, book.
  • X-BABIES #1 (OF 4) – Fuck you, Marvel. Seriously. “Let’s throw it at the wall and see if it sticks” is not a publishing strategy.
  • X-MEN VS AGENTS OF ATLAS #1 (OF 2) – The price point may mean I don’t pick this up, but assuming there’s a decent page count, I’m in. Have I mentioned yet how incredible Carlos Pagulyan’s art is? Incredibly detailed and realistic without sacrificing storytelling. I don’t know if AoA is his first book, but I look forward to seeing more from him.


Well, that’s it for this week, but I feel terrible. I’m getting way too cynical about comics. Obviously every company wants to sell their product and make a profit, but it just seems like Marvel and DC just see dollar signs instead of readers. I know the Internet is supposed to bring us together, but when the only thing you can trust is that Editor/Writer/Artist X is following the company script, does that really help the reader? Sure Stan Lee’s canival huckster act was gladhanding, but when it only came from one place once a month it felt more sincere…

Leave a Reply

