Game Tape

Wednesday has come and gone. The heroes have fought their battles and villains have hinted at things to come. Now it’s time to review the game tape…

Quick, fast, and in a hurry, here are some things from last week.

Jonah Hex #48 reminds us once again why he the roughest, toughest bounty hunter EVER. Besides, who doesn’t like a book guest starring Bat Lash.

Batman and Robin #5 still solid. Scarlet has an interesting moment of clarity and we see that being dead didn’t teach Jason Todd anything. He’s still too arrogant. Bruce made him die his hair? Really Morrison?

Planetary #27 ends in the only way it could. A surprisingly cheery and happy ending from Warren Ellis while condemning every “genius” in the traditional superhero books. Where’s my flying car? It’s in the Planetary universe.

THIS WEEK.

I have no idea why this image keeps popping up as the cover solicit for X-Men Forever #9. Beast was on my cover and the story is about Sentinels. Unless something ungodly happens in this book, this is the last time I’ll mention it for a while. I love this book. I didn’t think I’d ever say that about a non-Parker X-book again. Say what you want about Claremont, and believe me I’ve said a lot, this is his A game. This is a fun X-Men book: no over arching and difficult plot threads, no “message” just mutants doing mutanty things. Thank you Chris Claremont.

I enjoy Secret Six as a whole, but I am also a fan of Suicide Squad. There are some parallels between the two, but they’re more tangentially related than anything else. This week’s book wrapped up a story arc that I haven’t cared for. In some ways, Gail Simone is repeating some of the ideas from the previous arc: the team divides too easily, there’s a wicked seeming betrayal, and a reuniting at the end with everyone buddy-buddy again. This isn’t the only thing that made this arc difficult to like, but won’t go into that here. Suffice it to say that this issue made some interesting promises for things to come. Finally, it was nice to see Bane as something more than the simpering strongman he’s been since he started in this title.

To those who picked up Booster Gold #25 wanting to give it a try: I promise this book is usually better. This is not indicative of how fun and enjoyable BG usually is. I did enjoy the back-up with the new Blue Beetle. Honest, this book has never been this dull.

3 comments on “Game Tape

  1. Jesse says:

    The thing with Jason’s hair color has some basis in continuity. Originally his story was a mirror of Dick Grayson’s (a la Flash and Kid Flash) and he had red hair. After Crisis (I think) they retconned his meeting with Batman into trying to steal the tires off the Batmobile.

    I had that in mind when I read it, so I thought it was a nice touch. Obviously your mileage may vary.

  2. Matt says:

    Ah…see I’ve never read anything but the tire-stealing retcon. That’s kind of cool then. I just suck.

    • Jesse says:

      If you consider not being a continuity nerd sucking, then yes. But no one does who isn’t a continuity nerd.

      PS – I hope there’s a difference between knowing about something and caring about something. Because I don’t want to be one of Them.

Leave a Reply

