A serious call for help!

For those that don’t know, I spend my days teaching reading and composition to teenagers. Having moved into a new school, I inherited a meager class library. I’m planning to incorporate some graphic novels into the class and the library, and I’m looking for some suggestions. The only catch is that the content should be between G and heavy PG without being overly kiddie: they’re teens and they hate being talked down to. Pretty sure I’ll get fired for books with excessive cursing, non-cartoon violence, and sex…sorry Jesse, no Boneyard. They’re also not generally comic readers, so continuity heavy books.

What I’ve got so far:

Bone (all 9 trades), the first Muppet Show collection, and the first 4 digest sized Marvel Adventures: Avengers. The Bone collections are the only ones they haven’t touched.

I’m thinking about adding: Akiko (if I can find the trades and not the more kiddie text versions), American Born Chinese, but I’m leary of including digest of Runaways.

Thoughts? Anybody suggesting books for girls gets bonus points.

5 comments on “A serious call for help!

  1. Jesse says:

    Nah, I wouldn’t recommend Boneyard. I always thought it had a hard time deciding whether or not it was kid-friendly, and I wish it just had been.

    My recommendations:
    Astro City
    Blankets (too adult/heavy?)
    Jack Kirby’s Fourth World
    Marvels
    Maus
    Private Beach (perhaps…it’s been a while)
    The Spirit (!!!)

    Of course, I think Runaways would be good, too, so my opinion may not be worth much.

    • Matt says:

      I’m considering using Maus as my summer reading book for next year. Astro City might not be a bad idea. I’m not sure what mileage a kid not familiar with continuity would get out of Marvels although I could be wrong, and it isn’t my money. I feel pretty confident in saying that no one is truly ever ready for Jack Kirby’s Fourth World. Thanks for the suggestions.

  2. Hoyt says:

    Castle Waiting too kiddie?

    • Matt says:

      Geezum pete! David will kill me for forgetting Castle Waiting. He’s been after me years to read it and pass it along. Come to think of it, they might enjoy P.S. 238. That’d be another book/ web-comic David hipped me to.

Leave a Reply

