(Insert Your Favorite Color Here)-est Night

So.  Blackest Night.   Matt is terrified of it’s potential sucking, and I can’t afford it.  Still, it’s worth looking at (SPOILERS and SPECULATIONS ahead).FLSH?  Flesh?  Oh!  I get it now!

A few things to get out of the way first:

  • I thought the idea of the Sinestro Corps was brilliant.  I can’t believe no one had ever thought of it before!  It’s a definite credit to Geoff Johns that he was able to find something so novel and run with it.
  • I think the idea of the Rainbow Corps is a little suspect, though, especially right after the creation of the Sinestro Corps.  Obviously someone would have come up with it eventually, since the yellow corps was genius and broadening the concept is just reducing it ad absurdum.  Still, Johns put a ton of thought into this.  We saw him at the Green Lantern panel in San Diego last summer, and he knows how everything plays out and interrelates.  It’s quite impressive, so I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt.

Even if you're a White Lantern, it gets chilly in space.Now here we are at Blackest Night, a pretty good concept even if the war of the colors is overcomplicating things (staggering them would have been a little easier to absorb).  I may be wrong here, but it seems fairly obvious that we’re going to see a White Lantern by the end of this cosmic adventure.  My original post was going to be questions and pontifications about who the most likely candidate for White Lantern.  At the top of my list was going to be Kyle Rayner, since he’s been a Green Lantern and a godlike space deity (a great name for a band, too).  Then I read this over the weekend and it all became clear.  No more guessing required, I think it’s all falling into place that Kyle will become a (the?) White Lantern in the end, potentially after becoming a Black Lantern.

I just hope he doesn’t drift off to “learn about the universe,” DC’s standard tactic when they create a character so powerful they no longer know what to do with them (I’m thinking of The Spectre and Firestorm here, specifically).

Any other thoughts or theories out there?  Am I right or way off-base?  I’d love to hear what other people are thinking.


One comment on “(Insert Your Favorite Color Here)-est Night

  1. […] At least I got something right.  DC is releasing White Rings. […]

Leave a Reply

