This Week’s Comics

Here’s what’s on my radar for this week.

HAUNT #3 – Issue 3 of Firestorm/Deadman/Spider-Man-Man.  To Kirkman and McFarlane’s credit, though, if this were truly still the early 90’s he’d be called Deadstorm.  Which now that I think about it is pretty catchy.  (C) and TM Jesse Dubin!  Take that, Todd!

I kid, I kid.  This is really a pretty solid superhero book, even if it does wear its influences on its sleeve.

IMAGE UNITED #1 (OF 6) COLLECTORS ED – I knew 7 covers couldn’t be enough.  Image never lets you down.

JSA ALL STARS #1 – Shouldn’t a book called JSA All Stars have, you know, some of the JSA’s all-stars?  Power Girl, the poor man’s Rex Tyler, and a loose assortment of other characters do not a supergroup make.

MARVELS PROJECT #4 ( OF 8 ) – After 10+ years of letting Marvels rest on it’s own laurels, Marvel puts out 2 minis in a year.  Sheesh.  Still, it looks like this has potential.  Is anyone reading this?  Is it good?

SUPERGOD #2 (OF 5) – If I say nothing else about this book, and I may not, this deserves to be said: this book has the best production values of anything on the stands right now.  The cover is beautiful (acetate?), and the paper on the inside is heavy and glossy.  I also say this as someone who wants to hit reviewers when they talk about this stuff.

As for the meat of the thing?  You’ve read it before. Ellis starts off with a list of sciencey things he’s read in the last 4 months, and the last one he lists is the one the book takes off on. If you’ve liked it before, you’ll like it here.  I truly wish Ellis would do something new, but this is a good book if you’re not as burned out as I am.  Aw hell, I’ll probably still pick this one up.  Quality comics is quality comics.

One thing I don’t understand, though, is why Ellis keeps dipping into the superhero well with Avatar. They’ll obviously publish anything he wants to write (see Wolfskin, Gravel, Blackgas), yet he chooses superheroes as often as not.  Is it possible that he doesn’t hate them as much as he lets on?

X-BABIES #3 (OF 4) – I hope Top Dog bites Planet Terry and gives him rabies.

What are YOU getting?
Leave a Reply

