Madness!

Every so often, I have to move things around in the longboxes. Collections grow; titles end; I’m stuck shuffling everything. It sucks. To this end, I’ve been thinking of ways to fix this problem. This is sort of going to work through my thought process. It’s not going to hurt my feelings if no one reads this one. Skip to the bottom if you’re interested in the solution I think I’ve come up with.

First, what is the problem? The regular (monthly) infusion of new books into an existing filing category. The solution, then, does not have to apply to the dead titles: Starman, Uncanny X-Men, and Sandman Mystery Theatre don’t NEED to move.

I thought of several solutions to the problem from a physical stand point. Could I fix the shuffle problem with the way they are stored? I could line them along the wall like magazines on a rack. Imagine a deck of cards spread horizontally along the table, and you’ve got the idea. Each new issue simply takes it’s place at the end of the line. The elegance of this solution is that there is no more digging through boxes. Issues are more at my finger tips than ever before. The down side is that space on any give wall is finite, albeit a long time in running out. It comes close to solving the problem. Running titles on separate tiers don’t need to shuffle boxes or rows as they grow. Again though, wall space is finite for rows of running titles/cross-overs/one-shots, etc…

That’s when I hit upon the idea that the solution wasn’t physical storage.

Solution: Organize them by year. Each month or week gets a tab. Whatever I bought that week is placed in the proper month. Easily refound later thanks to online resources such as Diamond’s shipping lists or my handy Comicbase. Maybe even a hard copy of that year’s books in the box… An added bonus is that this method keeps cross-overs together in a box or two boxes. Further, it’s more efficient. The time taken to place a book in a box with it’s titular bretheren is cut out. Everything per week goes in with it’s month.

Does this make sense? Anyone see flaws in the system? A fresh set of eyes never hurts.

So back issues and dead runs can stay where they are. New issues have a place, and they don’t need to be moved from time to time. I’m thinking trying this’ll be one of my New Year’s resolutions. I’ll let you know how it works out.

One comment on “Madness!

  1. Jesse says:

    I dunno, I think requiring ComicBase to find a specific book sounds like a pain. Maybe refurbishing some space in the barn and getting twice as many boxes as you could possibly need (so you can leave plenty of space) is the way to go. Of course, you’ve seen my nightmare, so I have no room (ha ha) to talk.

Leave a Reply

