This Week’s Comics — And A Hit And A Miss

Still not much out this week, but compared to the last month, it’s like a deluge.  Here’s what I’m looking at this week.

  • HAUNT #4 – I’m just repeating myself here, but this book is way more enjoyable than I thought it would be.
  • MARVEL BOY URANIAN #1 (OF 3) – This one is news to me, but I’ll take any new Agents of Atlas I can get.
  • MUPPET SHOW TREASURE OF PEG LEG WILSON TP – Okay, I won’t be picking this up since I got the  individual issues, but this was a really great book.  If you’ve been on the fence about checking out the new BOOM! Muppet Show books, this is a great place to start.  I’m looking forward to the next “road trip” miniseries.
  • SIEGE #1 (OF 4) – The price point is out of my reach, but I’m really looking forward to some normalcy in the Marvel Universe.  Since House of M I think the whole 616 has been relatively inaccessible, and I’m looking forward to some sort of status quo where casual fans still have some idea what’s going on.

And since I’ve got a lot of extra space to fill up today, a couple quick reviews:

The Incredible Hercules: Secret Invasion – After one week with 2 really solid Hercules books, I took the plunge and picked up this Secret Invasion tie-in book.  Hercules leads a multi-pantheon coalition of gods across the planes of existence in order to kill the Skrull god motivating their takeover over Earth.  It feels like Morrison’s JLA meeting Gaiman’s Sandman with more punching things. And if that sounds like a mess, it doesn’t read like one.  It’s an action-packed adventure with Pak and Van Lente putting it all together seamlessly.  I’ve already ordered more Herc hardcovers and am looking forward to more of the same.  This is what superhero comics should be.

Image United #2 – And then there’s this.  Basically, every review I read about issue 1 applies to this one.  It’s a schizophrenic muddle, and even Kirkman can’t get us from one place to another seamlessly.  I’m really questioning the whole purpose now, which is pretty disappointing given how much I’ve been looking forward to it.  A “preview” of Liefeld’s Bloodstrike doesn’t add much value, either.

So that’s it for me.  What are YOU getting?

Leave a Reply

