This Week’s Comics — Again??? Really, Diamond?

Well, it’s that time of the week again.  Diamond is experiencing technical difficulties.  When this week’s comics are posted, This Week’s Comics will be posted.

Still, I managed to read some good stuff this weekend, so some reviews are in order.

Siege #1-2 – It’s probably somewhat telling that I haven’t read most of Marvel’s output in the past couple years. Between snoozer events and Bold New Directions That Will Change EVERYTHING!, I just haven’t
been that interested in what is essentially the asshole-ization of the Marvel U.  I’ve been keeping up with the broad strokes, but not the details.  So if Siege is going to change all of this and lead to a Brand New Day, then I’m all about Siege.

The scene set as Siege opens is fairly unrecognizable to me. Asgard is hovering twelve feet above Broxton, Nebraska, there are two Captain Americas, Thor is back but apparently not doing much, Iron Man is holed up someplace, injured, and Nick Fury is paired up with a bunch of kids I can only assume are the Secret Warriors.

Norman Osborn and Loki set up a series of events that lead to Volstagg creating a huge incident like the one that opened Civil War.  This gives Osborn the excuse he needs to lead an attack on Asgard and dupe
Ares into forging the plan.  Once Ares discovers the treachery, he fights The Sentry in the most gratuitously violent display I’ve ever seen in a mainstream comic (but correct me if I’m missing something egregious).

Despite not knowing where we are or how we got there, I enjoyed the book.  Olivier Coipel’s art is stellar, and Brian Michael Bendis is telling a concise, action-packed story without the wordy repetitiveness of some of his earlier work.*  And in only 4 issues!

I’m looking forward to seeing where this is going, but not nearly as much as I’m looking forward to seeing a cohesive Marvel Universe again.  I still don’t trust Tony Stark, though.  That bridge has been burned.

Blackest Night #6 – I think all of the reviews I’ve read about this have been fairly negative, but I didn’t mind it.  Sure, the “every ring can create one more” deus ex machina came out of left field, but at least it’s fairly interesting, even if I don’t really understand Nekron’s motivations.  Is it just bringing back everyone who’s escaped death?  How the hell is Barry figuring all this stuff out?  I can barely keep things straight from one issue to the other, although to be fair, that’s mostly my fault with the 3 month gaps between issues.

I don’t get all of the choices Johns made for who gets rings. The Atom is Compassion? The Flash is Hope?  Lex Luthor is Avarice? Why?  And why does Ganthet give himself a ring?  Doesn’t he channel the green power through his own body?

Still, the choice of Scarecrow for Fear was well-played. Of course I’ll have a complaint, though, and in this case it’s motivation.  I never recall seeing Scarecrow motivated by the desire to feel fear, and I’m afraid that this is just more of Johns looking to create order where none was necessary.  Dude, if it’s a Batman villain you can throw common sense out the window.  Those cats are all just batshit crazy (pun intended).

Hmm…Maybe I liked it less than I thought.  Expect more from me on the New Guardians (and who else SHOULD have gotten the call) in the next few days.

Green Lantern #50 – I suspect Matt may have posted his second GL #50 review specifically for me after I emailed him threatening to buy it. And I did.  It had some questionable moments in it (and confusing, since I haven’t been following every spin-off…Where did The Spectre come from???) but in all, I thought it was okay.  To be sure, this one book had more action in it than any issue of Blackest Night so far.  I completely missed the point behind releasing Parallax, and his beef with the Spectre, but other than that I thought it was a nice change of pace.  My only quibble is that they’re replaying this so shortly after having Kyle get possessed.

So, that’s what I’ve been looking at.  Hopefully we’ll get a look at this week’s books soon.  In the meantime, I’m going to start re-reading some Starman.

* It’s not that I mind the wordy repetitiveness, it’s just that I refuse to believe that every character has this same type of conversation.

Leave a Reply

