This Week’s Comics — And Some Quickie Reviews

AVENGERS VS ATLAS #3 (OF 4) – Any week with a new Atlas book is a week that I’m drooling for getting to the comic shop.  Thank you Jeff Parker.
BATMAN #697 – I wish I could stop getting this boring, boring book, but getting Batman every month is like breathing.
JOE THE BARBARIAN #3 (OF 8 ) – I haven’t gotten the first issue yet so I haven’t read the second, but I’m really looking forward to sitting down with this and reading a big chunk of it.  It’s been getting stellar reviews everywhere else.
MARVEL BOY URANIAN #3 (OF 3) – I still maintain that this is one of those “throw it at the wall and see if it sticks” books Marvel’s been doing, but it’s sticking for me.  This is the conclusion of the story of our weirdest agent of Atlas in the 1950’s, with some surprisingly good Golden Age reprints in the back.  This proves Marvel CAN print a $4 book that gives us enough extra bang for our buck.
MUPPET SHOW #3 – Oh, crud.  The reminder that I haven’t sent Matt his copy of #2 yet, and I swore to myself I wouldn’t read it until I do. This is the other drool-worthy book of the week.
SIEGE #3 (OF 4) – The first two issues of this were surprisingly good: fast-paced, full of action, and with a definite goal at the end. Hopefully this bookend can put the last 8 years of Marvel’s weirdness behind us.


I’ve read some really solid stuff the past week, including new comics!  Ex Machina #48 isn’t the last issue after all, but it was the strongest in ages as Mitchell Hundred and his evil counterpart start getting closer and closer to each other.  Weekly World News #3 is experiencing diminishing returns, as Ed Anger basically just crosses the country being a conservative hate-monger.  We get it already.  Based on the talk from the back of the book, more minis aren’t guaranteed.  It would be nice to see more stories, but  perhaps 3 issues each would be enough.  Batman and Robin #10 was the hit of last week, kicking off the Return of Bruce Wayne with a new mystery that will tie in nicely with the “Batman Through the Ages” theme they’ll be doing. I find it a little hard to believe that with as many times as the manor has been destroyed that there are any secrets still hidden, but I’ll suspend that disbelief, even as I wish this story was in the main title rather than some dull “Long Halloween” rehash.  I find myself amazed to start liking Damian, almost as amazed as I am that he’s liking being Robin.

I picked up the Ghost Riders: Heaven’s On Fire mini and was thrilled to see that Jason Aaron wrapped everything up very nicely.  There’s too much coolness in there to go into in brief, but if you liked his run on the main series, this won’t disappoint.

So that’s it for me.  What are YOU getting?

Leave a Reply

