This Week’s Comics

As happens this time each year, Jesse has to go into the studio to record with The Electric Mayhem. That leaves me responsible for all aspects of this educational and “entertaining” web log.

So here we go with a preview of Wednesday’s books. The exciting thing for me this week is that the LCS is back in business. The guys that were running it for the owner have taken over and are up and running. No more dealing with creepy guys and cramped confines. No more paying full price for books. It’s back to a regular 20% off! So what am I getting a low low discount prices?

Green Lantern #52 – I’ve written some pretty harsh, but not untrue, things about Geoff Johns and his “epic.” Why am I still getting this book? I guess I’ll never know. It’s like a kind of torture to have to read… Mostly I guess it’s an affinity for Hal Jordan. I’ve also got a morbid curiousity.

Amazing Spider-Man #626 – I’ve been picking this title up regularly provided it’s not being written by Joe Kelly. Waid is writing this second part to an arc about the newest incarnation of the Vulture.

A-Team: Shotgun Wedding – I’m hoping this will be promising for more than nostalgia. That’s mostly why I’m waiting for the trade. IDW usually does a good job on the licensed projects: Transformers, Star Trek and GI Joe being most notable.

Speaking of Transformers and GI Joe, they’re out this week too. The TF mini-focusing on the Wreckers has been fun, and I’m looking forward to seeing what Cobra does with the M.A.S.S. device now that it’s finished.

That’s it for me, what are you getting?

3 comments on “This Week’s Comics

  1. Jesse says:

    Thanks for filling in while I’m playing hooky. This is what I’m getting this week, if I ever make it to my LCS.

    GREEN LANTERN #52 – This has been a nice companion to Blackest Night, even if some of the issues have been a stretch of late.

    HAUNT #6 – I swore to myself that I was done with this after the first arc. It was solid, but not revolutionary. Greg Capullo is handling the art duties on this one, though, so my curiosity is piqued enough to check out this standalone story.

    THUNDERBOLTS #142 – It’s not that I love the Thunderbolts so much as I have a huge man-crush on Jeff Parker. Sorry.

    I’m surprised you’re not getting T-Bolts. It’s darker than I tend to like my superhero comics, but it’s not bad. I confess to looking forward to the Heroic Age version with Luke Cage more than the current lineup.

    PS – Floyd sends his best.

  2. Matt says:

    I always forget to look for T-Bolts on the shipping list. It’s a pleasant and welcome surprise when I walk into the store. Thank you for depriving me of that joy.

    p.s. Rosebud is a sled…you’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

