This Week’s Comics

There’s a fair amount to discuss this week.  Not all of it good…

BATMAN #698 – Dear DC, PLEASE make this book interesting!  The revelation of the Black Mask was a  failure on two fronts: 1) I didn’t CARE who Black Mask was under there, and 2) I didn’t care once it was
revealed.  In fact, I thought that the mask was sealed onto his face…What’s up with that?
BRIGHTEST DAY #0 – I hope there’s some extra content to justify the extra $1, because I’d really like to know what the game plan is for the DCU now.  Also: Aquaman!
FLASH #1 – Ditto for this $4 book.  Although with Johns taking the lead I can only imagine it’ll be boring.  Maybe I’ll pass anyway.
IMAGE FIRSTS AGE OF BRONZE #1 – Great call by Image for this $1 book. It’s on the older side of the Image spectrum but I’ve heard great things about it, so I’ll absolutely check this one out.
LOSERS #1 – And DC is on the $1 book kick too, now.  Losers is an incredible action/adventure/espionage book and everyone should check out the good version before the awful-looking movie comes out.
WEEKLY WORLD NEWS #4 – And the noble experiment comes to a close. Like I said when the last issue came out, I wish this arc had only been 3 issues, but I enjoyed the concept and would love to see more of these in the future.

Matt inspired me to pick up S.H.I.E.L.D. #1 last week, and even though I didn’t understand the whole thing, I liked it quite a bit.  The idea of a collection of the world’s smartest men protecting the Earth throughout history is a strong one, and ties in well to the Coalition of Reed Richardses.  Deadpool Corps #1 left me cold, though.  The Rob’s art was relatively strong, but Deadpool In Space doesn’t do much for me, and the 15-some-odd Deadpools just stretch a thin gag even more.

So that’s it for me.  What are YOU getting?

2 comments on “This Week’s Comics

  1. Matt says:

    I was tempted to pick up Deadpool Corps. The writer, Victor Gischler, lives here in town. Guess that’s not going to happen any time soon.

    I’m flattered that you picked up SHIELD.

  2. Saint Walker says:

    OK, I’m like a month or more behind in some of my titles (just read GL#52 yesterday, waiting on BN#8), so that pic was a little spoiler-y, but Jade’s back? 😀
    Also, I’ve never read The Flash. I always kind of liked him in the Superfriends cartoons and the TV series, and admittedly my would-be metagene powers rather resemble his, but I’ve never really considered myself a Flash *fan*. Well, imagine my surprise when I found myself getting really, really excited about Barry having his own title again. I think my actual words were, “Crap. I’m gonna have to buy that, aren’t I?” Yeah, looking at my list for the next few months, I think my bank account is going to start weeping (even more than it already has; thanks, IRS).

    Speaking of, I think they should change the title from “Adventure Comics” to “Tie-In Monthly Comics” or even just “You May As Well Cough Up the $3.99 Now Comics.” Seriously, I think I’ve passed on one issue out of 12, and even that one, I kind of wanted to get.

Leave a Reply

