This Week’s Comics

There’s a decent amount of comics coming out this week to comment on, but not much I’m picking up. Here’s what I’m looking at.

  • ATLAS #2 – And comicdom’s greatest book is back to a $3 price point. Thank you, Marvel.
  • BATMAN RETURN OF BRUCE WAYNE #1 (OF 6) 2ND PTG – If you missed out on the adventures of the cave-Batman the first time around, now’s your chance to recify that situation.
  • DC UNIVERSE LEGACIES #2 – Is anyone out there reading this one?  I dig the concept, and Len Wein is a solid storyteller working with some incredible artists.  Right now the cover price is the only thing keeping me from trying it, but I haven’t heard much about it.
  • DETECTIVE COMICS #854 NEW PTG – It’s been a long time since I’ve gotten to read an issue of Detective, and this one is a buck.  I’ll definitely be picking it up, and hopefully it’ll be something new (to me).
  • GOON FANCY PANTS HC LTD ED VOL 03 – I’ve really been loving the Fancy Pants hardcovers of The Goon that Eric Powell has been putting out. They’re nicely produced, tell a complete story, and occasionally come with unexpected signatures.  If you’ve been looking for a good place to start with The Goon, give any of these a try.
  • NEW AVENGERS #1 – As much as I usually don’t fall for Marvel’s marketing gimmicks, I’m pretty much a sucker for a new Avengers #1. Still, with the increased cover price, they’ve got to give you a little something extra for that additional dollar.  Avengers #1 did, but Secret Avengers did not. Hopefully New Avengers will pass the flip test.


That’s it for me.  What are YOU getting?

Leave a Reply

