This Week’s Comics — And Too Much Commentary

There aren’t a TON of solid-looking books coming out next week, but some are my favorites and the others look to be worth experimenting.

  • BATMAN BEYOND #1 (OF 6) – I’m curious, and for $3 it’s worth giving the new adventures of Terry McGinness a shot.
  • CHRONICLES OF WORMWOOD LAST BATTLE #4 (OF 6) – It’s been quite a while since we saw the last issue of CoW come out, which is a shame since it’s the funniest comic you can buy that doesn’t involve Muppets.  As long as, you know…nothing ever offends you.  Ever.
  • GREEN LANTERN #55 – After Green Lantern #54 I put this title On Notice, in that it’s only one bad issue away from getting dropped from my pull list.  But with Lobo in this month’s issue it’s safe for now.
  • HERBIE 7 INCH VINYL FIGURE – For Matt.
  • MUPPET SHOW #7 – And speaking of Muppets, issue #7 of the main title comes out this week.  Even though I still somewhat miss Roger Langridge’s art, Amy Mebberson’s is definitely growing on me.  Her smooth linework is so dead-on it makes me feel like I’m watching an episode of the Muppet Show, especially when she manages to make the pigs or frogs tuck their noses into their mouth.

Usually I’m fairly autonomous in the comics I pick up every week, but after reading Matt’s Game Tape last Thursday I was convinced to pass on Superman #700 and pick up Fantastic Four #580 instead.  I may never know if Superman was as big a letdown as he said, but picking up FF was a great move. I’ve only been sporadically picking up issues in the Hickman run, but I’ve been pleased each time so I think this will move to the regular pull list.  The main story with Arcade was light and well done-in-one, but the Reed-lead Future Foundation is terrific, and I’m anxious to see where Ben Grimm’s “High Cost of Living”-esque story goes.  Hickman’s dialogue really shines, but I was incredibly impressed by the linework of Neil Edwards’ Bryan Hitch-meets-Alan Davis pencils.  THIS is what the Fantastic Four should be like.

When going over last week’s new releases I apparently spaced over Thunderbolts, the second issue of Jeff Parker’s run with Luke Cage taking over the team.  This is the best incarnation of the team I’ve read since the early Busiek days, as Cage and the team all start feeling each other out and exploring their limitations.  You know, like the T. Rex in Jurassic Park.  And for whatever reason, the presence of Man-Thing takes the book to a whole other level, even if he doesn’t do very much yet.

So, that’s it for me.  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

