This Week’s Comics

It’s a pretty disappointing week in terms of new comics this week. Here’s what I’m looking at.

  • BUZZARD #2 (OF 3) – The story of The Goon’s Buzzard continues here. If you like The Goon, you know what you’ll be getting with this one.
  • MUPPET SHOW #8 – The last story arc, featuring “Scooter’s sister” was great, and even though I never cared for Skeeter in the past I liked her here.  I just can’t figure out what “story reason” they would have for not saying her name until the end of issue 7.  Anyone who saw a certain early-80’s cartoon would already know who she was, and anyone who didn’t wouldn’t care.  At any rate, The Muppet Show is hilarious, and a great example of stories that stand alone while still working as part of a larger arc.  I just hope Roger Langridge does the art on this new story.  As much as I love Mebberson’s art, Langridge conveys a wonderful sense of kinetic energy and claustrophobia in the Muppet Theater, and his panels always contain tons of background jokes.


Even though it’s a light week, I’ve picked up plenty of back issues this weekend that I’ll be catching up on, including the little-known yet strangely hard-to-find Flashpoint Elseworlds mini and wrapping up the Shed story from Amazing Spider-Man that everyone has been raving about.

I also just finished the first “season” of Sleeper, and while I won’t do a full review here, I will say that every good thing you’ve heard about this title is true and well-deserved.

That’s it for me.  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

