This Week’s Jumbo-Sized Comics!

It is, remarkably, a pretty heavy week of comics for me this week! It’s pretty exciting since that almost never happens these days. Here’s what I’m looking at this week.

  • 1 FOR DOLLAR HELLBOY SEED OF DESTRUCTION – Every friend I have loves Hellboy, and I can’t handle it.  Mike Mignola’s art is just too heavily-inked and blocky for me to enjoy.  But I’m coming around to the fact that the writing might be stellar, which might be enough to get me around the art style.  For a buck, I’ll take the plunge. Thanks, Dark Horse!
  • ATLAS #4 – Nothing more to be said here, except this is the penultimate issue, giving us the 3-D Man answers everyone has been looking for since What If? #9.
  • AVENGERS & INFINITY GAUNTLET #1 (OF 4) – The original Infinity Gauntlet remains one of my favorite comics of all time.  It must have been seeing a villain truly win for the first time by KILLING all of the Marvel heroes at once, it was chilling to middle-school Jesse. Because the original was so good (and still so readily available), I have a hard time seeing the necessity of this.  However, after hearing Brian Clevenger talk about this book on War Rocket Ajax (including the addition of U.S. 1, who was certainly never in the original) I’m going to give it a try.  At least the way Clevenger describes it, it sounds great.
  • BATMAN BEYOND #3 (OF 6) – The Terry McGinness story isn’t setting my world on fire, but it’s solid Batmanery and more McGinness is better than no McGinness.
  • EX MACHINA #50 – I’m fairly certain this is the final issue of West Wing superheroics, but I’ve been burned on this before.  It’s been quite a while since we’ve seen a new issue, so my memory of what’s happening is pretty spotty.  Still, it’s maintained high quality (and Tony Harris art) so I’m anxiously awaiting the conclusion.
  • IMAGE UNITED #3 (OF 6) – And speaking of spotty releases, it’s been roughly 37 months since issue #2 came out.  Issue two, and the reprint of the IU buildup as Issue #0 have dramatically reduced the enjoyment I took from #1 as I’ve gotten used to the by-the-number Image-style superheroics.  But I’m still pretty much hooked at this point, at least to keep going a little while longer.  But shame on Image for getting schooled by The Rob, who’s putting out something like half of Marvel’s Deadpool output right now.
  • THUNDERBOLTS #147 – I don’t know why (it’s possibly just Man-Thing and Juggernaut), but I love this book.  Pick it up, you will too.

That’s it for me!  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

