This Week’s Comics

After the abundance of last week, I shouldn’t be terribly disappointed that there’s so little I’m picking up this week.  Still, there are some good books out, and it’ll give me the opportunity to rave about Avengers and the Infinity Gauntlet.  Here’s what I’m looking at this week.

  • 1 FOR DOLLAR GOON – If you’ve been curious to check out The Goon but haven’t known where to start, here’s a good place.  You cannot go wrong with this book for a dollar.  And then once you’re hooked, pick up the Fancy Pants Edition hardcovers and get the whole thing in chronological order.
  • BATMAN #702 – It can’t be a good sign that I remember #700 but not #701…I’m wondering if I missed it somewhere.  But it’s Grant Morrison and it’ll be awesome, so you want this.
  • MUPPET SHOW #9 – Roger Langridge is back on art duties on this book, and as much as I enjoyed Amy Mebberson’s arc, he was greatly missed. (I will say the opposite when the next arc starts, I’m sure.)  This is the Muppet comic we’ve  always needed but never had.

To harp more on cheap comics, kudos to Dark Horse for hopping on the dollar book bandwagon.  They’re not all winners (I’m looking at you, Aliens vs Predator), but I took the plunge on last week’s issue of Hellboy and really, really enjoyed it.  Part of it was John Byrne’s writing, but I found Mike Mignola’s art to be detailed, moody, and engrossing.  I don’t know what in his art has driven me away in the past, but none of that was in the first issue of Hellboy.

One of my favorite comics ever is the original Infinity Gauntlet series, which came out just as I was getting into comics enough for everything to still be new and fresh, but after I had been reading long enough that I was still able to recognize who everyone was.  I tend to be wary of coming back to it for fear it won’t be as good as I remember, but I read it again this weekend in order to give the new series an impossible goal to reach and it was still incredible, with wonderful scripting by Jim Starlin and amazing art by George Perez and Ron Lim.

With all of that preface out of the way, I LOVED the new issue.  It streamlines the story, as these Marvel Adventures-style minis do, and gets burdensome continuity out of the way in order to focus on the event itself.  There are some special and unexpected appearances, a great entrance by Dr. Doom, and high-stakes superheroing.  I’m really looking forward to the rest of the series, and Brian Clevinger’s story has convinced me to pick up his Atomic Robo work, so it’s a success in all ways.

That’s it for me this week.  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

