This Week’s Comics

After a dismal showing last week, I’m happy to see I’m picking up more comics this week.  Still, I was a little disappointed I didn’t get any feedback suggesting new books to try.  Obviously our little community needs to chime in a bit more in the comments section.  Digression aside, here’s what I’m looking at this week.

  • BATMAN #703 – Didn’t #702 just come out 2 weeks ago?  I’m with Matt, in that this Final Chapter stuff was a bit of a mess, but I’m not really looking forward to Tony Daniel’s return to the writing duties.
  • BATMAN AND ROBIN #14 – If I were DC I think I would stagger my Batman books over the whole month rather than releasing two in one week, but that’s their right, I suppose (plus if they’re releasing Batman bi-monthly I guess they already are).  At any rate, this is currently DC’s best bat-book.  Pick ‘er up.
  • GREEN LANTERN #57 – Still on notice, but Green Lantern is still hanging in there.  This issue with Larfleeze with probably tickle my lantern-bone, so I expect this one to be a winner.
  • IMAGE FIRSTS LIBERTY MEADOWS #1 – As happy as I am to see a reprint of Liberty Meadows, this one makes no sense since there’s no ongoing series to promote with it.  Still, for a dollar you’ll get a full issue of one of the greatest strips the funny pages have ever seen. Big words, but absolutely true.  Frank Cho is a master, and once you get hooked here I encourage you to track down the Image reprint collections, beautiful hardbound editions of the stories.  I never, ever buy multiple copies of comics to get them in different formats…except for Liberty Meadows.  It’s just that good.


So, that’s it for me.  What are YOU looking at?

4 comments on “This Week’s Comics

  1. Matt says:

    I can tell you that Andrew’s recommendation of “Last Days of American Crime” isn’t bunk. I picked up the first two issues, and I’m interested enough to shell out for the last issue. It was out last week or the week before.

  2. Jesse says:

    I forgot about that one! Thanks for the reminder.

    I just finished Hickman’s Nightly News and it was INCREDIBLE. I was a little confused at the beginning and could stand to go through it one more time, but I thought it was great paranoia literature. Plus the art is in a really interesting graphic design style. Really innovative.

  3. Larry says:

    I picked up the Gorilla Man mini-series on your recommendation. Otherwise, I’ve haven’t really picked up anything new. Maybe Unwritten? Thanos Imperative?

    Absolutely sick of crossovers and events…

Leave a Reply

