This Week’s Comics

Wow…I’m not actually picking anything up this week.  That’s okay, there are still some things worth talking about.

  • DC COMICS PRESENTS GREEN LANTERN #1 and JACK CROSS #1 – I’m really curious to see how these DC Presents books turn out, as they’ll be reprinting decent-sized chunks of comics for $8.
  • GHOST RIDER BY JASON AARON OMNIBUS HC – I’ve mentioned a few times how much I’ve loved Jason Aaron’s Ghost Rider run, and now you can get the whole thing here in one big chunk.  It’s pricey, and you can probably find the individual issues for less, but you can only bludgeon small varmints with this volume.
  • IMAGE FIRSTS HAUNT – I was fairly impressed with this book until I got further in and became convinced it’s just more of the same McFarlanage.  Still, if you’re curious or like your comics Spawny, this is a good way to give it a try.
  • UNCANNY X-FORCE #1 – A new X-Force team vs Apocalypse?  I like the idea, just not the price tag.


I was fairly unimpressed with Skullkickers #1 from a couple weeks ago. Having a book with two unnamed protagonists is unnecessarily complicated, and I didn’t find the story or art to be especially easy
to follow.  I haven’t been able to bring myself to read the last issue of Atlas.  I’m no good at saying goodbye.  Somehow, Deadpool Team-Up slipped under my radar two weeks ago.  Written by Jeff Parker and co-starring Gorilla Man, I really like the idea of this book teaming Wade up with all sorts of characters AND having them written by the people who know them best.  Good call Marvel.  I’m looking into diving into this one.

That’s it for me.  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

