This Week’s Comics

We’ve got another good batch of books this week.  Last week I passed on the Red Robin and Batgirl one-shots because I was picking up so much other stuff.  I don’t remember the last time that’s happened to me.  And now let’s take a look at this week.

  • BATMAN AND ROBIN #15 – I don’t even remember where we are with this one.  That can’t be a good sign.
  • BATMAN BEYOND #5 (OF 6) – On the other hand, the Hush Beyond arc here is really picking up steam.  The big reveal wasn’t as surprising as I would have liked, but it makes sense.  I just wish SOMEONE in the Bat-universe could get a happy ending.  Sheesh.
  • BRUCE WAYNE THE ROAD HOME CATWOMAN #1 and COMMISSIONER GORDON #1 – Like last week, these will depend on the creators involved and a flip test, but I’m game.
  • CHAOS WAR #2 (OF 5) – Man, I really loved issue #1, and I’m glad Matt talked me into it.  Don’t let anyone tell you “Event Fatigue” isn’t a real thing, especially if they’re working for a publisher putting out three (!) at the same time.  But this book has all of the Herc madness we’ve come to love.
  • MUPPET SHOW #11 – This is a good reminder that I haven’t read #10 yet. As always, this comes with the highest possible recommendation by both of us.

Last week’s Return of Bruce Wayne #5 proves that you can never, EVER say Grant Morrison doesn’t know what he’s doing, and to quote the big man (Bruce, not Grant) himself “The plot’s got a few holes, but I think it’s starting to make sense”.  I suspect by the end we’ll get the answers to everything we’ve wanted to know about Dr. Hurt and the Waynes, and Thomas and Martha will return to their normal sainted status in the DCU.

In other review news, I was pleasantly surprised by Superior #1, and apologize to Mark Millar for calling it Superman when, in fact, it is Captain Marvel.  Like with Nemesis, though, I still take issue with Millar’s boasts about creating new characters when he’s just rehashing old ones.  He does it very well, but what’s the last truly original character he’s written?

That’s it for me this week.  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

