This Week’s Comics

After several weeks with healthy amounts of comics to pick up, my streak was inevitably going to end.  And this is that week.  Here’s what I’m looking at this week.

  • BATMAN AND ROBIN #16 – Since I put my foot in my mouth about the last issue I’m just to say I’m picking this one up.
  • CHAOS WAR #3 (OF 5) – I really enjoyed the first issue, but the price tag and Matt’s mediocre impression of issue #2 means I’ll be finishing this up on the cheap when I can find it.
  • DC COMICS PRESENTS CHASE #1 and THE FLASH GREEN LANTERN #1 – I was really excited that DC was putting these out, but my shop has been selling out by the time I make it in on Saturday.  I was able to flip through a few on Sunday, though, and was pretty disappointed. Ten year-old Superman and Green Lantern stories aren’t particularly hard to find or essential, so I’m hoping DC chooses some better source material for future volumes.
  • STRANGE TALES 2 #2 (OF 3) – I loved the first Strange Tales anthology and was pretty psyched that Marvel was handing over the keys to indie creators again.  While the price tag just put me off too much, I’m looking forward to digging these up in a back issue bin.

I can’t say enough about last week’s Fantastic Four #584.  For each issue I go in expecting big things from Hickman and new artist Steve Epting and they still manage to blow me away.  The characterization in
this issue was so well done it should serve as a lesson to new writers.  We learn more about Sue Storm and Emma Frost in their two-word greeting than we would in a whole page of Claremontian captioning.  Meanwhile, Johnny and Ben’s day on the town was brilliant, especially the dinner with Stan and Jack.  If you’ve been on the fence about getting on board this incredible run, now’s the time to hop on.  Even though this is the second issue of “Three,” and about a year into Hickman’s run, each issue does a great job as a standalone, too.

That’s it for me this week.  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

