This Week’s Comics

This must be my lucky month, because there’s a good batch of comics (and a trade!) coming out this week.  Here’s what I’m looking at this week.

  • BATMAN RETURN OF BRUCE WAYNE #6 (OF 6) – I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this Batman-through-time mini, but the timing of it doesn’t quite work, what with Batman already having returned in last week’s Batman and Robin and who-knows-what going on in the Time Hunters book.  Still, this will undoutbedly be a good conclusion and tie up a lot of hanging plot threads.
  • CHRONICLES OF WORMWOOD LAST BATTLE #5 (OF 6) – Chronicles of Wormwood stands out as one of my favorite books these days (and one of the few Garth Ennis books my stomach can handle).  I don’t follow  release dates very closely (or rather, at all), so when I realized I’ve been missing this book lately it must mean that it’s REALLY late.  I’m sure it’ll be worthwhile, as Last Battle is turning out to be a great story.
  • KNIGHT & SQUIRE #2 (OF 6) – I can’t say enough about the first issue of this mini, a done-in-one that introduces a small army’s worth of characters that are all strongly familiar and yet uniquely British.
  • RED MASS FOR MARS TP VOL 01 – Since falling in love with Jonathan Hickman’s Fantastic Four run, I’ve since picked up (and similarly loved) The Nightly News (thanks Larry!), but some of his other Image work is incredibly hard to find.  I’ve been trying to dig up back issues of this book for a few months now, but I’ll be  happy to curl up with a copy of the trade.

I’ve been publicly antsy for some time now about the concept of Batman, Inc, but with last week’s Batman and Robin #16, where <SPOILER ALERT> Bruce Wayne reveals he’s been financing Batman for years, I’m downright queasy.  The secret identity has always been critical to Batman’s whole being; now it’s just too easy for anyone to connect the dots.  And while I have too much respect for Grant Morrison to think he doesn’t have a plan in mind, too much of this feels like the Marvel of 4 years ago with every character unmasking.  Morrison has earned the right to play this out, but I’m close to jumping ship on this one.

Well, that’s it for me.  What are YOU looking at?

3 comments on “This Week’s Comics

  1. larryang says:

    I just bought the trade paperback for Hickman’s alt-history Pax Romana.

    Anyone watching Walking Dead? The premier is a masterpiece, and the second episode had is moments (and annoying parts).

  2. Jesse says:

    I’m recording them, but having difficulty finding the time to watch. So far the first episode has been great.

Leave a Reply

