We Interrupt Your Regularly Scheduled Program For Some Breaking News

This Week’s Comics will be postponed until tomorrow to bring you an important announcement.

For as long as we’ve been writing the blog I’ve been railing against escalating cover prices and saying how comic values are depreciating to the point at which it’s cheaper to wait two months and pick up issues in discount bins.  Well, I’ve decided to put that theory to the test and as of January 1st I’ve taken all Marvel and DC books* off my pull list, and for 2011 I will be buying them exclusively through back issue boxes or discount bins.

I’ll still be looking at new releases every week, though.  Rather than focusing solely on the comics I’ll be buying I’ll look at anything I have a more-than-passing interest in, then add it to my pull list.  I’ve also set up a new page (formatting still to be finalized) that will track every comic I’m looking for, how long it takes me to find it, and cover price vs what I pay for it.  Hopefully, if all goes as planned, I’ll be picking up more comics (and thereby keeping more current with the Marvel and DC Universes) but also spending much less on them.  Will I succeed? Fail?  Quit after 3 weeks?  Well, we’ll find out together.

Deciding to go through with this ignoble experiment has made me stop and take a look at the books I regularly get in order to give myself a little time to mourn.  Now that Grant Morrison’s Batman has priced itself out of my range, the only thing I think I’ll especially miss at the moment is Jonathan Hickman’s Fantastic Four.  Especially with all the speculation around the end of the “Three” storyline, I predict that issue will be hard to find, highly priced, or (most likely) both. Other than that…there’s not much of a sense of loss yet.

Stay tuned, we’ll see how long this experiment lasts.  This Week’s Comics will be up tomorrow.


*Indies get a pass because of how hard it is to find back issues after they’re released and because they sell a relatively low volume and need the continual support.
2 comments on “We Interrupt Your Regularly Scheduled Program For Some Breaking News

  1. […] of the Exciting, Mighty Uncanny, Raging Comics Blog Panel Discussions « We Interrupt Your Regularly Scheduled Program For Some Breaking News This Week’s Comics January 4, […]

  2. […] got a nice batch of comics this week, including more than one I would have jumped on if not for my insane experiment.  Here’s what’s noteworthy this […]

Leave a Reply

