Game Tape

With Batman and Robin #19, we see the end of Paul Cornell’s arc. Each issue has become a little more lucid than the last. On the whole, this story has been an odd one. There’s a scene at the end where Dick and Damian are puzzling over what to make of Absence and the events that transpired. I feel pretty much the same. It ended up not being a miserable turd, but I can’t go so far as to say I enjoyed it. I just don’t know what to make of it.

I dunno how or why, but I missed the last issue of Action Comics. I picked it up this week. The main story with Luthor working to outmaneuver Vandal Savage was okay. It had some clever moments, but it fell a little flat with the Secret Six showing up too. On the other hand, the Jimmy Olsen back up just keeps getting better. Sadly, this was the last of such back up stories. Spencer has been brilliant, insane, up beat, fast paced, and classic feeling all at the same time. I’m looking forward to the one-shot coming up that wraps up this arc.

That’s pretty much it, except to say that I’m not sure we really needed another recap of Booster’s origin story in this week’s issue.

It was a light week.

Leave a Reply

