This Week’s Comics

Yet another light week for me.  Here’s what I’m looking at this week.

  • BATMAN INCORPORATED #7
  • BATMAN KNIGHT AND SQUIRE TP – Seriously, if you’ve been on the fence this one is worth reading.  Each issue is a done-in-one, and it provides a great look at the British Batman and Robin, although the differences have been far more interesting than the similarities.  I just hope they include the text pieces, as they describe all of the British slang that lost me.
  • DETECTIVE COMICS #878
  • GOON #34 – The return of the Goon!  And written by Evan Dorkin, no less.  (Oops, that’s not until #35.) This will be incredible.
  • GREEN LANTERN EMERALD WARRIORS #11
  • VENOM #4 – So far I’ve found the premise of this book remarkable, but haven’t gotten any issues yet.  I think I’m going to wait until I can dig up the first arc until I make the decision on whether or not to go further with it.

Last week was pretty disappointing, but I wasn’t expecting to wind up with a copy of Hack/Slash #5 in my bag.  I’ve been pretty pleased with the samples I’ve read, but it’s not really something I’m into.  This month’s book featured Fantomah the Jungle Woman, who along with Stardust the Super-Wizard is one of Fletcher Hanks’ insane creations. They must be in the public domain now to be featured in a modern book.

This is great news in and of itself, as long as the books they’re in are worth reading.  H/S #5 isn’t one of those books, though.  The book starts off with an amazing homage to the old Hanks stories that really works well (the only thing Kyle Strahm needs to remember is that Hanks draws his characters with a very distinct style of flying), then cuts to the present as Fantomah returns and picks up where she left off. Fine so far, but the b-story featured characters I wasn’t  familiar with and never got explained and the art was too rough around the edges.  If you regularly follow the title you may have a better experience, but jumping in as a less-than-casual reader it didn’t convince me to come back.

But that cover…Wow.  Worth the cost of admission alone.

That’s it for me.  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

