This Week’s Comics

It’s strange to take a look at the week’s releases and see almost all of DC’s output is #1 issues.  I’ve had a bit of a change of heart on the DC relaunch.  If you recall the DC preview Matt and I did last week, while I wasn’t thrilled about the event or the necessity, there were a few books I didn’t feel I could help but pick up.  Well, that’s all changed.

 

Dick move there, Eobard...

It kicked off with Chris Sims and Caleb Goellner’s review, which was about what I expected.  Matt’s Game Tape pretty much backed that up.  But then I checked out the preview pages.

You may recall that Matt and I have both been pretty horrified by the sheer dickishness in Flash Rebirth when Professor Zoom went back in time to kill Barry’s mother (and push Barry down a flight of stairs for some reason).  Like a dick.  It was the worst attempt at “story” since Brad Meltzer decided it would be a good idea to have Dr. Light rape Sue Dibny.  Then the whole Flashpoint/DCU Reboot is predicated on THAT?  Thanks but no thanks, DC.

Say what you will about Brian Bendis’ master plan for the Marvel U, but at least it’s not based on the worst travesty of story in the last 5 years.  So as Flashpoint ends…So does my time with the DCU.  Maybe I’ll pick up an issue here or there when I find them in the discount bins, but as far as seeking them out?  Nope.  I’m out.  Thanks DC, it’s been a fun 22 years.

As for this week’s comics, here’s what’s new and noteworthy that I’m not completely fed up with.

  • ATOMIC ROBO GHOST OF STATION X #1 (OF 6) – New Atomic Robo!  Break out the banners, there’s at least one thing right in the comic book world!
  • GODZILLA GANGSTERS & GOLIATHS #4 (OF 5)
  • HEROES FOR HIRE #11
  • HULK #40
  • PUNISHER #3
  • THUNDERBOLTS #163
  • WOLVERINE #15


And…The rest is Marvel books that don’t merit much mention.  At least not today.  That’s it for me.  What are YOU looking at?

2 comments on “This Week’s Comics

  1. Matt says:

    I didn’t say this in the review because I didn’t want to spoil the “story”, but a week after, and in comments, it should be safe. The big reveal in Flashpoint #5 that Barry Allen caused all of this mess by traveling back in time to save his mother smacked of the worst kind of fan-fic. It raised so many questions, not the least of which is: why now after all this time as the Flash? Why are we denied the character arc that makes this a logical move. I mean, hell, we get minutia and stretched out story-telling in all aspects EXCEPT where it actually serves the story.

    I didn’t think I could hate a character more than I hated Kyle Rayner back in the ’90’s. Barry Allen: number one with a bullet. Thanks for teaching me to hate again Geoff Johns.

    Your points about leaving DC behind has me seriously thinking now. A business that makes such a big misstep regarding customer service shouldn’t be supported. For me it’ll depend on how Action Comics comes out this week.

  2. Hoyt says:

    UCB rules: go back in time and shove someone.

Leave a Reply

