This Week’s Comics

There’s an interesting melange of titles out this week.  Here are this week’s noteworthy titles.

  • BLOOM COUNTY COMPLETE LIBRARY HC VOL 05 – Bloom County is one of my all-time favorite newpaper strips and I just read the first volume of the complete library this summer.  IDW has put together an EXCELLENT package.  Every single strip is collected in a well designed hardcover on heavy paper.  While I always love annotations, they’re a little light, though that they’re present at all is a plus.
  • PIGS #2 – I admit, I’m intrigued.  If you liked The Losers, give this one a shot.
  • FEAR ITSELF HULK VS DRACULA #3 (OF 3)
  • FF #10
  • GHOST RIDER #4
  • NEW AVENGERS #17
  • PUNISHER #4
  • UNCANNY X-FORCE #16

And then…There’s a bit of “more of the same,” isn’t there?  That should say something to me.

Matt (rightfully) called me out for my lack of detail when I reported that I was somewhat non-plussed by Snarked #0.  I think it was the high percentage of verse that turned me off.  I’m glad Roger Langridge is putting that into the book and experimenting with the form, it made the book a bit of a chore for me to read.  In addition, I wasn’t quite sure where it was going.

Maybe Snarked #0 caught me on a bad day because I’m happy to report now that I didn’t have the same trouble with #1.  Yes, the poetry took me out of the book a bit, but it was light and flowed nicely for the most part, and it didn’t comprise a majority of the issue.  The story was clear and well constructed, and as always Langridge’s art was fun to look at.  So yes, I’m on-board now.

That’s it for me for this week.  What are YOU looking at?

Leave a Reply

