This Week’s Comics

Not a whole lot noteworthy this week, but let’s take a look at what is.

  • ATOMIC ROBO GHOST OF STATION X #3 (OF 6) – When your main character is in the title of the book (and it’s only issue #2), you KNOW nothing’s going to happen to him.  And yet when I read the first pages of Atomic Robo GoSX #2 it felt like a punch to the gut, that’s how good Brian Clevenger and Scott Wegener are.  Pick of the week, kids.
  • AVENGERS #19
  • FEAR ITSELF #7 POINT THREE – Ah.  Point Three now.  There you go.
  • GLADSTONES SCHOOL FOR WORLD CONQUERORS TP VOL 01 – Unlike so many of Image’s new titles, which mistake aimlessness for mystery, Gladstone’s does it right.  Now’s your chance to get caught up on an incredibly well thought-out all-ages title that keeps unravelling an legitimately intriguing mystery.  Imagine Wanted with a sense of fun (and without wanting to punch Mark Millar in the face for that last page).
  • GODZILLA LEGENDS #1 (OF 5) – With Gangsters and Goliaths wrapped up and Kingdom of Monsters losing almost all of it’s steam, this is IDW’s last chance to keep me on board for a while.
  • PUNISHER #5
  • THUNDERBOLTS #165
  • VENOM #9

With Matt’s recommendation, a healthy dollop of curiosity, and a big chunk of books found for 50 cents each, I’m well into IDW’s Cobra Civil War, having read the first 3-4 issues of GI Joe, Cobra, and Snake Eyes.  Each has it’s own set of pluses, as Cobra tells the main story of Cobra candidates vying for the position of Commander by trying to rack up the highest Joe body count, The GI Joe title showing the ramifications of that, and as expected, Snake Eyes’ side mission.
And while each book has it’s own strengths, Snake Eyes is the strongest title for me iwth Chuck Dixon’s strong writing and the best art of the bunch by Robert Atkins.  Color me surprised, but this is the first Joe series I’ve picked up that hasn’t crossed over with Transformers, and I’m really digging it, enough to go back and pick up another couple dozen IDW issues (all for 50 cents!).  I’m definitely digging these.
Wow, that’s a lot of IDW books!  They’re becoming quite the powerhouse.  My running pull list has been updated, that’s it for me.  What are YOU looking at?

2 comments on “This Week’s Comics

  1. Matt says:

    “Unlike so many of Image’s new titles, which mistake aimlessness for mystery…” You wouldn’t happen to be referring to Morning Glories by any chance? I notice that it’s out this week too.

    • Jesse says:

      No, I was referring more to Blue Estate. I think there was another in that vein that annoyed me recently, too. I quite liked Morning Glories, but I think I’ll be getting it in trades.

      Now that I think about it, though, Gladstone’s is “Bruce Timm’s Morning Glories”. And that’s okay with me…

Leave a Reply

