This Week’s Comics

I’m trying to keep a stoic presentation in light of this week’s biggest release.  Here are this week’s new and noteworthy titles.

  • BEFORE WATCHMEN MINUTEMEN #1 (OF 6) – Well, this abomination is finally here.  Way to cede your respectability, DC.  I hope by the end it was worth it, with your toasters and your cash-in prequels.
  • DARK AVENGERS #175 – Despite being fairly underwhelmed with the past dozen issues or so of Thunderbolts, it wrapped up well with the Thunderbolts vs thunderbolts arc.  Jeff Parker’s a great talent, but Dark Avengers is really going to have to wow me in order for it to stay on my pull list.
  • EPIC KILL #2 – I reviewed issue 1 and really disliked this generic title.  Avoid at all costs.
  • HULK #53 – I’ve now filled in all the holes on Jeff Parker’s Hulk run and am finally starting to get caught up.  I planned on staying on through the Mayan arc, but after Hulk of Arabia, I think I’m going to get caught up through the last issue I picked up and be done.  It’s just not taking me anywhere interesting.
  • SECRET #2
  • SPAWN #220 – Sometimes you just have to give in to your geekier side, even if you know you shouldn’t.  DON’T YOU JUDGE ME!
  • THIEF OF THIEVES #5

That’s it for this week.  What looks good to you?

Leave a Reply

