Denver ComicCon, Day 2

Sorry, bear. If you didn’t get your tickets in advance you’re all out of luck.

What a day at the Colorado Convention Center!  And to that end, I’m going to try something new and go with subject headings rather than fussing about with transition sentences.

The Lines

I was surprised that despite rumors of a huge sellout for today, ticket lines never looked insanely long.  In fact, I never saw them as long as the line I waded through last night.  And perhaps DCC noticed a lack of signage in the lobby, too, as today there were volunteers guiding people where they needed to be.  (Though I still think signs would be more efficient.)

How to Draw Phineas and Ferb. And a penguin.

The Work

This was my first time volunteering for a con, so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.  My assignment was crowd control for one of the meeting rooms, and since it was one of the smaller rooms everyone just came and went as they pleased so there wasn’t much to control.  So four hours of my day was essentially watching panels and monitoring batteries in the camcorder DCC was using to record the panels (hopefully they’ll show up online).

The Crowd

Despite obvious enthusiasm and a large turnout, I found everyone I ran into to be part of a pretty chill, relaxed group.  Everyone was polite, friendly, and psyched.  It’s a nice change of pace from San Diego, where everyone is rushing hither and yon with miles of floor space to traverse.  Truth be told, this is a great size for a con (I should really try to find the square footage).  It’s enough to keep you busy for a full day or more, but not so much it feels like you’ll never make it to everything.  I swear, in San Diego I feel like it takes a full day just to get the lay of the land, much less go anyplace and shop or talk to people.  Several creators (Barry Kitson, Mike Allred, Joseph Michael Linsner) had very long lines, which was nice to see.

Charging for Autographs

Neal Adams, art legend (and personal fav’rite)

It isn’t specific to this con, but it puzzles me so I’ll mention it.  The idea of charging for autographs confuses me a bit.  Sketches I understand since there’s work and craft involved.  But for just signing your name?  That seems a bit off to me.  I understand trying to encourage customers to buy your wares, but especially in the case of celebrity signings when there’s nothing to buy it seems unnecessary.

Perhaps I’ve just always been under the false assumption that signings are ways of promoting yourself and/or giving something back to the fans, but $20-$50 for a couple minutes of time just feels mercenary. 

Compared to James Marsters, the $5 it costs to get Neal Adams to sign a book is pretty minor, but Neal Adams is really the person who got me started down this path.  Not to pick on Mr. Adams, but he’s put me in a bit of a quandary.  I’ve been a huge fan of his for almost as long as I’ve been reading comics and getting a signed book would be really nice.  But at the same time, is that something we should pay for?  (I watched Jason Aaron sign about a foot of comics for one guy last night.  For free.)  To be fair, anything you buy in his booth gets signed for no charge, but quick head sketches on a color print will run you $70, and commissioning art can go for $500-$700 and UP.

What do you think about charging for autographs?  Any and all comments welcome, I’m curious what you think. 

Tomorrow

Only time will tell, friends!

Spider-Man out of carved pumpkins. I haven’t found an organic place to put this yet, but damn if it isn’t amazing (pun intended).

Leave a Reply

