Tomorrow’s Comics

This is a great week of comics, with TWO issues of Atomic Robo and some other stuff that’s good but ALSO TWO ISSUES OF ATOMIC ROBO!  Yes, this is like Second Christmas for me.

  • ATOMIC ROBO FLYING SHE DEVILS O/T PACIFIC #1 (OF 5) and ATOMIC ROBO REAL SCIENCE ADV #3 – Okay, so Flying She-Devils is the next full volume and Real Science Adventures continues the collection of short stories.  And I truly am excited they’re both out this week, but I’m a little confused why Red 5 is releasing them on the same day instead of spacing them throughout the month.
  • BERKELEY BREATHED OUTLAND COMP COLL HC – This will fit right in with your Bloom County collections.  Or if not yours, mine.  These are amazing collections, and IDW is going to become the new Fantagraphics (if only in the quality of their archival collections) if they keep it up.
  • FATALE TP VOL 01 DEATH CHASES ME – I just couldn’t remember what was happening in Fatale from month to month, so I’m hoping the move to trades is better for my ever-weakening memory.  Issue 6 is also outthis week, but I’m not sure if that means the TPB is only 5 issues or if they’re releasing the collection on the same day as the last issue in some sort of strategic alignment/vertical integration.  Almostcertainly the former, but the latter would be pretty interesting.
  • FF #19
  • LOEG III CENTURY #3 2009 – I confess: I’ve lost all interest in LoEG. It’s just to insular and referential, and if I’m being honest I just don’t like Kevin O’Neill’s art at all.  He’s a fine draftsman, I just find his style too rough and angular for my tastes.
  • MANHATTAN PROJECTS #4 – MP gets better with each issue.  Mad science at its finest!
  • PROPHET #26
  • TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES ONGOING #11

More reviews are forthcoming, as my love of Snarked and Thunderbolts has been reawakened.  That’s it for this week.  What looks good to you?

Leave a Reply

