This Week’s Comics

 

After a forced week-long vacation, I’m back on the site.  Spending a week of evenings digging up your yard like a meth-addled marmot really makes you appreciate sitting in front of a computer.  And while I can’t CONCLUSIVELY prove Matt was the one who did it…well, I also can’t prove he didn’t.  At any rate, here are this week’s new and noteworthy titles.

  • BLOODSHOT (ONGOING) #2 – I asked Valiant Comics themselves what title I should pick up that would convince me to pick up the rest of their line.  Advice was pretty fairly split between Bloodshot and X-O Manowar.  Since the X-O preview didn’t really strike my fancy and I’ve got a soft spot in my heart for ol’ Bloodshot, I went with him.  And it was a really good book!  Valiant is taking the core of the character — a guy whose blood has been replaced with nanites — and using that concept in some pretty novel new ways.  Oh, and adding characterization.  That’s a plus all-around.  (Of course, now I have to ask: where’s Rai???) I snagged my LCS’s last copy of Archer and Armstrong, the other book I was looking forward to (thanks again to a solid remembrance of the last run and Fred Van Lente writing), so expect more on that later in the week.
  • DAREDEVIL #17 – Waid.  Allred.  Daredevil. 

 

  • DARK AVENGERS #179
  • CROW #2 – They managed to take everything you know about The Crow and make it BORING.  Man, so little happens!  I’m sitting this one out.
  • PIGS #8 – Huh, I thought Pigs was wrapped.  Well, I’m glad to see it’s back. 
  • ROGER LANGRIDGES SNARKED #11 – At this point it’s just better to wait for the trade, as the next issue will be it’s last, but rest assured the quality has ramped up considerably since the middle doldrums and it’s as fun as ever.
  • SAGA #6 – Brian K. Vaughn’s space/fantasy epic just wows me.  It feels like nothing he’s ever done before, yet the sci-fi seems to come naturally.  This is a fun ride, though it may be time to move to the trade.
  • SAUCER COUNTRY #6 – I think I’m done.  Like Matt, I’ve just been underwhelmed by the pacing and lack of anything going on.  It’s a shame, because the high concept is great.
  • SUPREME #66 – I still feel weird picking up Supreme, but Larsen HAS been doing a great job.

And that’s it for this week.  What looks good to you?

 

Leave a Reply

