This Week’s Comics

Two surprisingly full weeks of releases after a long dry spell is a welcome change, even if I know it’s not sustainable for long.  Here are this week’s new and noteworthy titles.
  • BRAVEST WARRIORS #2 – I didn’t know what to expect from the first issue of Bravest Warriors, but it was a fun book.  The team spends the issue trying to creep each other out by relating scary story trailers.  It’s funny and weird in the same sense as Adventure Time, but it felt a little on the light side.  A kid would like it more than an adult, I think (as opposed to AT, which can satisfy both audiences equally), but it’s still a good read.
  • DAREDEVIL #20
  • GLORY #30
  • GOON #43 – Man, The Goon.  Eric Powell has been on such a great roll of insanely good stories lately, but they haven’t had the same level of comedy that I’ve come to expect from The Goon.  I’m not complaining in the least (and the hilarious and pointed superhero issue is probably more recent than I remember) but I feel like the world could be opened up (a la Hellboy and BRPD) to incorporate all types of stories each month.
  • HAWKEYE #4 – It is absolutely RIDICULOUS how good Matt Fraction and David Aja’s Hawkeye title is.  I love the character, and really enjoyed the last Fabian Nicieza title, but even I didn’t expect how good it would be.  From the dry wit and action of Fraction’s story to the sparse but moody art by Aja, this book is just a knockout.  It’s not quite broken in enough to challenge Waid’s Daredevil, but with Paolo Rivera no longer handling the artwork it’s poised to bump that title.
  • IT GIRL & THE ATOMICS #4
  • JUDGE DREDD #1 – I’m curious if the U.S. can replicate the dark cyncism of Dredd, but I’ll give it a quick check to see how it looks.
  • ROCKETEER CARGO OF DOOM #4
  • THE SPIDER #6
  • X-O MANOWAR (ONGOING) #7 – I’m picking up all of the other Valiant titles, and each and every one of them is a great example of fun comics where things actually happen in every issue.  But for some reason I’m not getting X-O.  So tell me, how is it?  Am I missing anything?
I’ve been pretty ambivalent on the whole concept of Marvel NOW!, to the point where I’m been thinking about using it as a jumping OFF point.  But Fantastic Four #1 hit the stands last week and I couldn’t resist it.  Now, even though I’m a year or so behind on Hickman’s run I was able to follow where all of the characters were at that moment, so it is a decent place to pick it up.  That said, it didn’t do a lot for me.  There was still a family feel, but it left me cold.  Technically, Matt Fraction hits the same notes as Hickman but it just doesn’t come across as warmly for some reason.  Maybe it’s the notes like Reed’s selfish decision to move the school, but I think I’m going to be happy to leave this one behind.
That’s it for this week, what looks good to you?
Leave a Reply

